Nutricrackers

I have made Nutriberries and Avicake copy cat recipes before, but decided to a new one using my dehydrator instead of the oven. Which would have worked perfect, I think… except that I forgot about them. And I may have made them too thin… they ended up a little crunchier than I was planning. These ended up being a huge hit with my picky Hahns. 

Nutricake

Base

1/8 cup flax seed
1/8 cup chia seed
1/3 cup dandelion tea, brewed per directions
1 jar baby food (4 oz; I used sweet potato)
1/3 cup dried apricots
1/3 cup dried goji berries
2 Tbsp tart cherry juice concentrate
1 apple, cored and seeds removed

Extras

2 Tbsp milk thistle seed powder
1 Tbsp ginger
1/2 cup seed mix
3/4 cup Higgins African Sunset cookable food (uncooked)
1/2 cup Harrison’s Pepper Coarse, chopped
1/3 cup TOPS pellets, chopped

Directions

1. Combine flax, chia, tea, baby food, and cherry juice. Let sit for 2 hours minimum, or over night.

2. Run all “base” ingredients through food processor or blender until smooth (flax or chia may not completely get chopped up in some machines – like mine!)

3. Mix all “extras” together in until you get a nice, mold-able “dough”

4. Put in dehydrator about 1/4″ thick, and leave in machine for 10-12 hours on the fruit/veggie setting (135 F)

This is just how I did it – feel free to experiment! The cherry juice and ginger are both things I use to help with arthritis, and the dandelion and milk thistle are good for liver. Remember you can substitute anything out. Next time I make these I will definitely be adding in my own Quick Serve mash instead of the Higgins!

Gizmo gives them her approval, and she is a tough critic!

Gizmo, Hahn's Macaw

Leave a Reply

