Making Harrison’s Bird Bread Perfect

I know that Harrison’s will disagree on this with us, but Ellen made some modifications to the Harrison’s Bird Bread directions so that it comes out perfect. I love using Harrison’s bread because it’s mainly pellets and is quick and easy! All of our birds love it this way!

20161214_153227

Look at that bread-y goodness!

 

For comparison, the standard directions are:

1 bag Harrison’s bird bread
2 eggs
15 ml (~1 Tbsp) oil
1 cup of water
Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes

The way Ellen suggested is:

3 eggs
1.5 Tbsp coconut flour
3/4 cup water
3/4 can pumpkin
Bake at 350 for ~45 minutes

And then because I have to be difficult and different, what I did is:

3 eggs
1 Tbsp of coconut oil
1.5 Tbsp coconut flour
3 jars of baby food
Bake at 350 for 35-45 minutes

20161214_131438

 

The main take away here is that the extra egg helps lighten it up, while the coconut flour acts as a sponge for the wet goodies. A little bit of coconut flour goes a LONG way so start small and work from there. It does add a bit to the cook time, but ovens do vary, so start at 25, check at 35, and then check every 5-10 minutes to see how it looks.

I like using the pumpkin or baby food because it adds a bit more nutrients and variety for picky birds that might not otherwise eat those things. I try to stick to things like spinach, squash, sweet potato, and carrots. I’m apparently FINALLY getting to the end of my baby food hoard I had for my son, so for this batch I’m using all fruits and then adding 1/8 cup of AviGreens to the mix, which is why it’s so green.

I use a glass 8×8 pan, greased with coconut or red palm oil for baking. It’s done when the edges start to brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

20161214_140147

The result of this is a lighter, more crumbly bread which my birds gobble right up! I like to crumble it up onto their veggies to entice them to eat more 🙂

20161214_153245

For storage, I cut the whole thing up into 1/2 inch to 1 inch cubes, put into snack bags in portions that will last a few days to a week, and then throw those smaller bags into a larger freezer bag. I let them thaw in the fridge overnight and it’s perfect in the morning when I go to feed it!

20161214_153923

Now if I could only perfect making a bread this good by powdering pellets! (Trust me, I have tried!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

